Higgs hunters but not Higgs: 2013 Fundamental Physics Prize



It must be a happy moment for Stephen Hawking that his contribution on Black Hole physics has been recognized through the announcement of awarding the Fundamental Physics Prize in the Special category for the year 2013. As everyone might have already expected, string theorists Alexander Polyakov, and Joseph Polchinski have been selected for the Physics Frontiers Prize. Along with this stringy biasedness, three condensed matter physicists, Charles Kane, Laurens Molenkamp (experimentalist !) and Shoucheng Zhang are also selected for the same prize. String theorists Niklas Beisert, Davide Gaiotto and Zohar Komargodski will be awarded the New Horizons in Physics Prize. And last but not the least, another Special Fundamental Physics Prize has been offered to seven scientists, involved in the Higgs particle hunting project in the Large Hadron Collider (LHC), CERN, Switzerland. The funny and the surprising thing is that Peter Higgs’ hands are still empty!

Source: http://www.fundamentalphysicsprize.org/news/news3